I’m the Mayor of Should-ville

It isn’t an honorific that I’m glad to claim nor one that I would encourage anyone I care about to covet. I know you’ve visited Should-ville. It’s where everything you think or say to yourself opens as “I should…”

Should-ville sucks. Visiting — or worse, living there! — undermines your efforts to actually DO anything worthwhile or productive. In Should-ville, you end up daydreaming of all kinds of things you SHOULD do without ever taking any real action. Rather than feeling empowered and excited about the possibilities you put before yourself, you end up feeling defeated and purposeless.

Think about it. How many times have you said to yourself “I should exercise,” but didn’t do it, and then felt like a slug. Or “I should take more time for myself,” but never got around to it, and then took out your frustration on those around you. You probably have a top “should” statement. Currently, “I should take more time to meditate and just ‘be'” is at the top of my list. Am I actually doing it? No.

I’ve come to a decision today that I happily announce to the Universe. Effective immediately I abdicate my mayoral position of Should-ville. No longer will I visit, check in or even Mapquest Should-ville. I officially abandon Should-ville and all statements or “I should” and plan to replace them with thoughts and sentiments that open with “I am..,” “I will..,” or “I have…”

Would you like to abandon Should-ville and come along?

5 responses to “I’m the Mayor of Should-ville

  1. Yep, I’m with you “sister-friend.” I’ve reached the age were I don’t want to go out on the shoulda, woulda, coulda train. I wrote a post last night called “The Last Day of My Life” and I did so because I have actually restructured my life so that I can live the truths within that story, and I’m feelin’ good.

    Great post! I wish you all the best in your journey.

    • EXACTLY, Eleanor! I enjoyed your recent post as well. Glad to have connected with another on this fabulous journey. Let’s stay in touch. Strength and clarity in numbers! Cheers!

  2. It won’t be the same here in Should-ville without you. Don’t forget to write

    • Publikworks, I hope you’ll come visit me! I always welcome more like-minds on this adventure we call life. Especially one who is also a former copywriter and advertising pro with a slightly wrinkled perspective on life.

Leave a comment