My Office Mate is a Dog

He’s self-absorbed, immature and stirs up trouble if you aren’t paying enough attention to him. I can’t count how many times I’m interrupted while trying to get work done. It’s absolutely infuriating! Just trying to write this post, I’ve had to stop four times.

I work from home, and Oscar, our beagle-Lab-mix year-old puppy, may be the primary reason I’m going broke/losing my mind/not getting stuff done/stressed out/pissed off. It’s damn lucky for him that he’s cute and the girls love him.

I am definitely a cat person. There’s no doubt about it. My two cats don’t give a damn about me or whether I want to interact with them or not. To them, I’m a source of food, water, shelter and the occasional scratch behind the ears, and little else. I’m good with that.

Having a dog is like having another child… like trying to work from home with an active toddler running around. It seems it can’t be done without a lot of frustration, distraction and yelling. It’s just not practical to pack up and get all of my work done from the coffee shop, so I have to make working from home work somehow.

So, I ask… How do you dog people do it? I mean, really?

One response to “My Office Mate is a Dog

  1. I just ignore mine. Sooner or later he gives up, usually later. There’s a dog toy he loves, it’s called Bad Cuz, and he’s content to play with that or sleep. Try to leave the room or, God forbid, the house and he screams like a two-year old until you return. Yours is still a puppy, though, he’ll grow out of it eventually. Probably.

Leave a comment